Material Explorations

I’ve been exploring with my new materials every day this week.

I still have lots of possibilities to explore and am going to start using tin foil as a quick “metal mesh” so I don’t use up my copper mesh with experimenting. It’s a challenge to sew with most of the metal threads so I’m going to start couching them down with other types of embroidery floss. I really like the rich coloring of the copper mesh. I’m also going to start playing around with patinas so see if I like an antiqued look better. I’ve been thinking about and looking at iron work in Savannah while I’ve been making these samples as well as vintage frames, cameos, embroidery techniques, and the Victorian era. It’s been fun and here are some of the samples that I have so far.

Leave a Reply

