Cat Chow Class – Day 1

It’s that time of year again, back to school! Fall quarter is always exciting. It’s the start of a whole new school year and there are so many possibilities, new ideas, and things to explore. It always interesting to think about where I was last year compared to this year. At the same time I can’t help but wonder where I’ll be after this school year. Things change so fast & I think it’s really exciting. Last year I was just starting the fibers grad program. I was basically just taking preliminary classes and not exactly sure where I was going. I’ve learned a lot since then, explored new processes, recovered from a broken leg, found a direction for my grad work, and passed my first review. I’m really looking forward to where this year is going to lead me and all the new things that are going to happen. It’s going to be a great year, I can feel it! And on that note, I’m posting a little about a class that I’m taking this quarter with Cat Chow, a visiting artist. The class is called The Artist as a Designer/The Designer as an Artist. It’s about experiencing and exploring new working processes and examining and discussing these two creative practices in new ways. Today was the first day and I think it’s going to be a great class. I am excited to work with grad students from other majors, and to be able to think and express myself in new ways. Today we did a small “45 minute challenge”, as Cat Chow called it. We were given tape and paper and then had to make something sculptural. I first started tearing and folding paper. I made little fans, crumbled scraps of paper, braided and twisted paper together, and only used the tape to join the paper. I started thinking about Victorian mourning jewelry because this topic can come up a lot in previous conversations about my work. I think it might be something that I’ll work with later on. I thought about braiding the paper instead of the usual hair that would typically be braided. Then I was thinking about what kind of jewelry I could make out of paper. I decided on rings because this type of jewelry also make me think of the circle of life. So here are the pictures of my paper sculptures. I know this is kind of a silly project but I decided when I started this blog that I would post everything and not just be limited to final pieces. I’m going to put my ideas out there so anyone can comment & give feedback. You never know when something like this could spark inspiration for future work.

Leave a Reply

